Back to All Articles

June 12, 2020, by Victor Rivera

New District Boundaries and Territory Map, as of June 1, 2020

We sincerely thank our LHC Scouting families for their patience during the realignment, merger, renumbering, and in some cases renaming of districts.

For many of our Scouters, this was an emotional process since lots of time, energy, and Scouting “sweat-equity” has been invested.  Some districts, such as Heart O’ Texas (formerly Indian Nations District) welcomed the opportunity to go back to a name they know.  No matter which district you are in, we don’t want the camaraderie or close-knit bonds to stop at all.  The Longhorn Council Realignment Committee made up of volunteers, Board members, staff and others had a difficult project on their hands.  They looked at the best way for District Executives and volunteers to serve our large council’s territory and the great news is that we will continue to be one big happy family.  We thank you in advance for taking the time view our territory map and names.

Our Longhorn Council district territories run from Central Texas through North Texas

Frontier Trails District, #41 (Denton)- Muenster, Lindsay, Sivells Bend, Walnut Bend, Era, Valley View, Callisburg and Gainesville ISD’s in Cooke County and Denton, Pilot Point, Slidell, Sanger, Ponder, Krum, Aubrey, Argyle and Lake Dallas ISDs in Denton County. The portion of Slidell ISD extending into Wise County will be served by Denton.

Orion District, #42 (Lewisville), – Little Elm ISD and all of Lewisville ISD except the portion east of I-121 in Carrollton.

Mustang District, #43 (Keller)- Northwest and Keller ISD’s.

Brazos Valley District, #44 (Weatherford)- All ISD’s within Young, Jack, and Palo Pinto Counties stopping at the county borders of adjoining councils. Wise County will service all ISD’s except the portions of Northwest and Slidell ISD’s that extend into the county. Parker County includes Springtown, Poolville, Peaster, Garner, Millsap, Weatherford, Brock and Lipan ISD’s. Aledo ISD will be served by the Southwest district.

Pathfinder District, #45 (Mid Cities)- Birdville, Carroll, Grapevine-Colleyville and Hurst-Euless-Bedford ISD’s.

Arrowhead District, #46 (Arlington)- Arlington, Kennedale and Mansfield ISD’s.

Trinity Trails District, #47 (SW Tarrant)- Aledo ISD in Parker County along with Crowley, Everman and Fort Worth ISD extending north to Rosedale St. in Tarrant County.

Lone Star District, #48 (NW Tarrant) – Azle, Castleberry, Eagle Mountain-Saginaw, Lake Worth, White Settlement and Fort Worth ISD extending south to Rosedale St.

Santa Fe District, #49 (Burleson/Granbury)- ISD’s in Hood, Johnson and Somervell Counties including the portion of Burleson ISD that juts into Tarrant County.

Heart O’ Texas District, #50 (Waco)- ISD’s in Bosque, Freestone, Hill, Limestone and McLennan Counties. Portions of ISD’s in these counties that extend into adjoining councils are not part of the Longhorn Council.

Leon Valley District, #51 (Killeen)- Hamilton, Coryell ISD’s and Killeen ISD in Bell County.

Chisholm Trail District, #52 (Temple)- ISD’s in Falls, Leon, Milam, Robertson Counties and Academy, Belton, Holland, Rogers, Salado Temple and Troy ISD’s in Bell County.

Woodbine Trails District, #28 (Scoutreach) – Scoutreach provides afterschool Scouting Programs to youth in Fort Worth and Arlington ISD schools that have 75% or more of their student enrollment receiving free or reduced lunches. The SAC fully supports the continued efforts in providing Scoutreach in the Longhorn Council.

Exploring, #35– Currently the Exploring District serves all Explorer Posts in Tarrant County.


We recently got a chance to meet our District Executives and the unit-serving Field Staff, in our IHUB post titled, “Who is DE, District Executive at Longhorn Council.”  If you missed it or to virtually meet your “DE” for the first time, click the link below:


Yours in Scouting,


Victor Rivera | Director of Marketing and Communications

Boy Scouts of America Longhorn Council
850 Cannon Drive | P.O. Box 54190
Hurst, Texas 76054-3191
P 817-231-8500



One response to “New District Boundaries and Territory Map, as of June 1, 2020”

  1. Gary Wilson says:

    Can you publish a map of the districts that can be enlarged to actually see what the boundaries are?